Awards & Recognition

Resources Navigation

The list below contains information and links to many of the common National awards presented to youth and adults, as well as unique awards specific to the districts in our council.

For a complete list of many awards and recognition items available to youth and adults visit Awards Central, the Boy Scouts of America’s repository for information about official awards and recognitions. This is where the most up-to-date information about BSA-related awards may be found, including award applications and nomination forms. For Eagle Scout information visit the Advancement page HERE.

Looking for Eagle Scout Information?

Please visit our Advancement page here

Wayne and Ruth Diehl Scholarship

Each year, Eagle Scouts from Blackhawk Area Council are honored with the Wayne and Ruth Diehl Scholarship. The award is designed to aid Eagle Scouts within the local council to prepare themselves educationally for their chosen life’s work. This is a one-time, non-renewable scholarship to be used for tuition, books, and/or other college expenses or training beyond high school.

Awards will be in the amount of $1,000 and the number of scholarships presented will be determined by the funds available from the trust fund. This award is made possible by the generous gift of Wayne and Ruth Diehl for a Scholarship Trust Fund.

Who Can Earn This Award?

Registered as an Eagle Scout in the Blackhawk Area Council at the time of application and receipt of award. In addition, applicant must be a high school senior or graduate.

How To Get the Award

1. Application must be submitted by December 27. Use the link below to access the Google Form. You will need a Google account to log into the form due to the security of information being shared.

2. Applications should include letters of recommendation from: Unit leader; Head of chartered organization; High school counselor; and Employer.

3. Recipients will be recognized at the annual Council Recognition Dinner, held on March 3, 2024.

> Wayne and Ruth Diehl Scholarship Application


District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.

District Specific Awards

Various unique district awards presented to dedicated Scouts and Scouters in their district. These district specific awards include (but are not limited to) the Arrowhead District Bridge Builder Award, the Sycamore District Action Award, the Wanchanagi District Outstanding Award, and the White Eagle Key 3 Award.

Religious Emblems Program

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, religious groups have developed the following religious emblems programs. The Boy Scouts of America has approved of these programs and allows the emblems to be worn on the official uniform.

The various religious groups administer the programs. Check with the Council Service Center or contact the religious organization directly to obtain the curriculum booklets.

Religious Recognition – Scouting’s religious awards program gives young people a chance to explore their faith.

Leadership & Training Awards

Scouting leaders who go through training have already shown dedication to the youth in their care. Their further dedication to the youth and the program of Scouting deserves recognition, and leaders are encouraged to apply for the awards available to them. These awards are intended to honor demonstrated performance and tenure of trained leaders in all areas of the Scouting program.

Distinguished Service Awards

As a movement whose leadership is overwhelmingly volunteer, the Boy Scouts of America recognizes the need to acknowledge the invaluable services that men and women render to youth. Of the hundreds of awards that the BSA presents each year to those on the local council, regional, and national levels, the Silver Buffalo, Silver Antelope, Silver Beaver, and Silver World awards are the most prestigious. Although the criteria are different for each of these awards, there is one common thread: The recognitions are granted by one’s own peers in Scouting for distinguished service to youth. Other BSA awards, by comparison, are granted only to those who have completed a prescribed course of study or have participated in special training sessions.

Financial Support of Scouting Awards

Encouraging gifts to BSA local council endowment funds is one of Scouting’s highest priorities. It is one of the only ways to ensure that your council can continue to offer the outstanding programs they now have and also grow to meet the needs of the youth and communities it serves. In its gratitude for such support, the BSA nationally offers three distinct endowment recognition awards. These awards are presented by the local council to donors who support Scouting’s financial future with council endowment gifts.

Heroism & Meritorious Action Awards

There are two sections within this category: Lifesaving Awards and Meritorious Action Awards.

For Lifesaving – Recognition may be given to a member of the Boy Scouts of America—Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Varsity Scout, Venturer, or adult leader—where the evidence presented to the National Court of Honor, in accordance with prescribed regulations, shows that he or she saved or attempted to save life under circumstances that indicate heroism and risk of his or her own life.

For Meritorious Action – Recognition may be given to a youth member or adult leader where the evidence presented to the National Court of Honor, in accordance with prescribed regulations, shows that a significant or outstanding act of service of exceptional character was performed. The action taken need not involve attempts of rescue or risk to self but must put into practice Scouting skills and/or ideals.

Community Organization Awards

Many Community, Professional, and Civic Service Organizations offer awards to Scouts and Scouters to recognize outstanding service relating to the organization’s area of interest.